[adrotate banner="3"]

15 Punjabi Candidates Running in Alberta Provincial Elections

The polling for the Alberta provincial elections in Canada is scheduled for May 29 and as many as 15 Punjabi candidates are in the running. Rajan Sawhney, contesting from Calgary North-West on a UCP ticket, MLA Devinder Toor, seeking re-election on a UCP ticket from Calgary-Falconridge, and MLA Jasvir Deol, contesting from Edmonton Meadows are the major Punjabi candidates.

The National Democratic Party (NDP) and the United Conservative Party of Alberta (UCP) are the two major political parties in the province. Both have given “adequate representation” to their communities by fielding them. Punjabis are mostly contesting in Calgary and Edmonton area seats.

There are three major Punjabi candidates namely Rajan Sawhney, Devinder Toor, and Jasvir Deol. Sawhney is contesting from Calgary North-West on a UCP ticket. He is also the Cabinet Minister for Trade, Immigration and Multiculturism. MLA Devinder Toor is seeking re-election on a UCP ticket from Calgary-Falconridge. MLA Jasvir Deol is contesting from Edmonton Meadows on an NDP ticket.

Sawhney, even though she said that she wouldn’t seek re-election from here, was announced as a candidate for the UCP after UCP Environment Minister and sitting Calgary North West candidate Sonya Savage announced her retirement. “I will work hard every day to see Calgary North-West move forward with growth, prosperity & a more affordable Alberta because we can’t afford to go back to decline, high taxes & the failed policies of the NDP,” said Sawhney.

Some of the other UCP candidates include Amanpreet Singh Gill from Calgary-Bhullar-Mccall, R. Singh Bath from Edmonton Ellerslie, Inder Grewal from Calgary North-East, Raman Athwal from Edmonton Mill Woods, and Amritpal Singh Matharu from Edmonton Meadows.

Candidates representing the NDP include Parmeet Singh Boparai from Calgary-Falconridge, Gurinder Singh Gill from Calgary-Cross, Harry Singh from Drayton Valley-Devon, and Gurinder Brar from Calgary North-East.

Furthermore, the Green Party of Alberta (GPA) is being represented by Aman Sandhu from Calgary-Cross, Wildrose Independence Party of Alberta (WIPA) is fielding Jeewan Mangat from Innisfail-Sylvan Lake, and the Alberta Party (AP) has chosen Braham Luddu from Lethbridge-West.

Vineet Washington
Alberta provincial electionsDevinder ToorJasvir DeolNational Democratic PartyndpPunjabisRajan SawhneyUCPUnited Conservative Party of Alberta