Lisa Cosmetics

T20 World Cup: England bags the trophy for the second time beating Pakistan by 5 wickets

by The Canadian Parvasi

Centre Court Developments

After a glorious T20 season, England took home the trophy after beating Pakistan by five wickets at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). England made history by becoming the first men’s national cricket team to hold both the ODI and T20 world titles simultaneously.

The match was quite pivotal for both teams, as they were not only competing for the trophy but also the title of the second team to win the T20 World Cup twice. England now ceremoniously joins West Indies in the club.

English All-Rounder Ben Strokes showed perhaps the most exemplary performance scoring an unbeaten 52 ushering the English team to the target of 138. England finished with 138/5 in 19 Overs for a five-wicket win.

Pakistan, who batted first, set the target of 137 in about 20 overs, which England chased quite smoothly in one over less. The English bowlers showed impeccable form that dominated the game throughout. Sam Curran, Adil Rashid, and Chris Jordan displayed noteworthy performances racking up 3/12, 2/22, and 2/27 respectively.

Similar stories
1 of 1,910

Bowler Sam Curran was named as the Man of the Match as well as the player of the tournament.

England (Playing XI): Jos Buttler(WK/Captain), Alex Hales, Philip Salt, Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid.

Pakistan (Playing XI): Babar Azam(Captain), Mohammad Rizwan(WK), Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi.

You might also like More from author

Comments are closed.