Balwinder Singh Shami, Sardar Singh named Indian hockey selectors

Interestingly, the new selection panel, joint for both men and women, has 13 more members.

Team Parvasi – Inside

Veteran Olympian Harbinder Singh has been replaced by RP Singh of Uttar Pradesh as the new Chairman of the Selection Committee of Hockey India. The new look selection panel also includes veteran BP Govinda who donned national colours in early 70s.

Interestingly, the new selection panel, joint for both men and women, has  13 more members.

Balwinder Singh Shami of Amritsar, Punjab, who represented Railways in National Hockey Championships, is joined by former Indian captain Sardar Singh from North India in the panel. Also in the new selection committee is Joydeep Kaur, who comes from the famous hockey nursery of Shahbad Markanda.

Similar stories
1 of 1,281

After retiring from competitive hockey, Balwinder Singh Shami, has been associated with training of players at grass roots level. Both Balwinder Singh Shami and new chairman RP Singh were members of the 1990 India’s World Cup Hockey team that played under trying circumstances in Lahore.

Another surprise choice is of V. Raghunath, who was till recently a member of the national team. Also in the same category is Yuvraj Walmiki.

The new selection panel is RP Singh, Balwinder Singh Shami, Mohammed Riaz, MM Somaya, Subhadra Pradhan, Sardar Singh, BP Govinda, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Rajnish Mishra, VR Raghunath, Sameer Dad, Yuvraj Walmiki, Joydeep Kaur and Asunta Lakra.

Prabhjot Singh


You might also like More from author

Comments are closed.